NAMI Research Dinner

Courtesy Dept of Psychiatry

The Department of Psychiatry at the University of Minnesota and NAMI (National Alliance for the Mentally Ill) held their 13th annual NAMI Research Dinner on Feb 26, 2015. Sue Abderholden, MPH, provided a great setting for the NAMI members and attendees. The initial goals of having the get-together was to share the projects and goals of the Department of Psychiatry and to make sure to provide information and education about research. In addition, the NAMI Research Dinner utilizes the get-together for a strong connection between the community and the University.

Med School Prom

Courtesy Nate Juergens

In the days leading up to the annual Medical School Winter Ball, known colloquially as Med School Prom, the halls are abuzz with gossip. Which freshly minted medical school couple will display their newfound love in public? Who will make a fool of themselves, consuming a little more alcohol than their frail, library-bound body is prepared for? Are we supposed to wear real prom dresses? Will there be a quiet study space available at the event?

A lot of questions will be answered on Friday, February 13th. Med School Prom takes place on the night before Valentine’s Day, but clearly overshadows the holiday that follows. Interestingly, St. Valentine found love at Med School Prom, and wanted a holiday to commemorate this achievement, forever scheduling his eponymous holiday on the day after. At least, that’s the rumor.

Early Chair of OBGYN, Konald Prem, has died

Colleagues and friends of the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Women’s Health mourn the passing of emeritus Professor Konald A. Prem, M.D. on January 25, 2015, at the age of 94. Dr. Prem was Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology from 1976-1984.

Dr. Prem was an alumnus of St. John’s University and the University of Minnesota and completed his residency at Minneapolis General Hospital. Dr. Prem chose to be a part of the U of MN because it was a teaching hospital. In the 42 years of his tenure at the U of MN he reached the rank of full professor and served as Acting Head of the Department, Director of the Division of Gynecologic Oncology, Department Head, and he was the prime mover in the establishment of the Department’s Gynecologic Oncology Fellowship Program. In addition, Dr. Prem was one of the first in the United States to be certified by the newly formed Gynecologic Oncology Board. Dr. Prem was a pioneer in the field of gynecologic oncology and a leader in developing techniques for radical pelvic cancer surgery. He was active in the Natural Family Planning and Couple to Couple League.

#AskWhyProject raises awareness for global health issues

Courtesy Missy McCoy

Fourth year medical student Missy McCoy is passionate about health equity and human rights. As a 2013-15 Oryema Fellow in Social Medicine, she has been involved in SocMed, a non-profit organization focused on educating the medical community on health inequality.

After getting involved with the organization, McCoy and some of her friends wanted to support SocMed's unique global health course centered on activism and advocacy in Northern Uganda. They decided to raise funds for a scholarship that would help medical students attend the course and simultaneously raise awareness about the core focus of the course -- the social determinants of health. McCoy set about this goal by creating a social media and fundraising campaign called the #AskWhyProject.

Diversity on the rise in the Twin Cities

A record number of diverse students is choosing to attend the University of Minnesota Medical School this year. Out of 170 first year students on our Twin Cities campus (161 M.D. and 9 M.D./Ph.D.), 53 come from multicultural backgrounds.

From 2010-2013, diversity within our student body was steady, with each first year class admitted to the Twin Cities campus averaging 39 multicultural students.

We are excited to break out of that mold and welcome more diverse students to our program in the 2014-2015 academic year. We hope to continue this trend and welcome more diverse applicants in the future.

Joseph Clinton to retire, Michelle Biros to lead as interim head of Emergency Medicine

Photo by Rich Ryan

Joseph E. Clinton, M.D., head of the Department of Emergency Medicine, will retire at the end of 2014. His last day as head will be Wednesday, December 31, 2014. Clinton plans to continue working for the department as an ad hoc professor in the New Year, assisting with emergency medicine electives, required courses, and procedure laboratories.

Michelle Biros, M.D., M.S., FACEP, will assume the role of interim head of Emergency Medicine effective January 1st. Biros is the department’s current vice chair for research, a role she has held since 2008.

Michael Hyoung-son Kim, M.D., named Twin Cities' assistant dean for student affairs

Photo courtesy Michael Kim

The Office of Undergraduate Medical Education has developed a new role to support Twin Cities and Duluth year 3-4 medical students. The assistant dean for student affairs will support medical student learning, professional development, and career planning. This role will centralize many of the duties that help students meet their goals.

Michael Hyoung-son Kim, M.D., current faculty member in Medicine’s Division of General Internal Medicine and Pediatrics’ Division of Hospital Medicine, will be the first person to serve as assistant dean for student affairs.